The J.Vasanthan Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in the field of Theatre 2017 is award to Indira Parthasary


A prolific Tamil writer, born in Chennai on July 10, 1930, to a Tyengar Family and raised in Kumbakonam in the Tanjavur District. He weathered many challenges but persevered to become a published author of 16 novels, 10 plays, many anthologies, short stories, novellas and essays (to date). They have been translated into many Indian dialects, English, and several other world languages.

He became known to the English speaking readers with his compilation of short stories entitled Native Town written in 1968, after the death of his father. He said that the passing of his parents allowed him a kind of catharsis and forum to express his feelings while celebrating their influence and gifts to him. Subsequently writing Ramaniya Philosopher, after the passing of his mother in 1969.

Although many of his works were based in Delhi and his home town of Kumbakonam, the Influenced by his travels can be clearly seen in Novels such as Justice, which was based on the suicide of a professor in Warsaw, Poland. He used everyday experiences like dinner parties with contentious guests to observing the treatment of a beggar on the street. He loved the theatre, and to that end wrote several plays examining both the human condition and relationships. 

His best known play is probably Aurangzeb but there is no consensus of which of his published works strikes the reader most. From Kuruthi Punal and Krishna Krishna to Helicopterkal Keezhe and Thanthira Boomi to name just a few, the readers are transfixed with the subject matter and immersed in his style as a story teller supreme.

His education, experience and wisdom combined with a rich culture make this prolific and creative genius a study and inspiration for aspiring play writes, poets, and writers in all their many variations.

He has previously been awarded the Saraswati Samman (1999), and is the only Tamil writer to receive both the Sahitya Akademi Award (1999) and the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (2004). He received Padma Shri in the year 2010, given by Government of India.

Now it is a privilege and honour to present this author and his contribution to the literary world the 2017, Lifetime Achievement Award of Excellence in the field of Theatre from the JV Art Foundation.